I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 95-31 (LS)

Introduced by:

R. J. Respicio
T. C. Ada
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
V. A. Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
Chris M. Dueñas
Sam Mabini, Ph.D.
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
M. Silva Taijeron
Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on the occasion of the observance of the One Hundred Thirteenth (113th) Anniversary of the Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of the Philippines.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAL UNU NA LIHESLATURAN

- 2 **GUÅHAN**:
- 3 WHEREAS, the Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of the
- 4 Philippines is observed every year on the thirteenth (13th) of June; and

WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained its independence through the sacrifices of many Filipino heroes, such as Dr. Jose Rizal, the National Hero of the Philippines, who wrote "Noli Me Tangere" (The Lost Eden), which popularized the independence sentiment, and whose execution by the Spanish fostered public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led the Cry of Balintawak; General Emilio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle of Binakayan; and Apolinario Mabini, known as the "Sublime Paralytic", and the "Brain of the Revolution"; and

WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by noted Filipinas, such as Melchora Aquino, known as "Tandang Sora", who was exiled to the Marianas by the Spanish Government; Teresa Magbanua, a twenty-eight (28) year old teacher, who was one of the first women to lead men into battle; and other Filipina heroines from all walks of life who joined the Revolutionary Forces; and

WHEREAS, the culmination of the struggle for independence came on June 12, 1898, when General Emilio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' Independence at his home town of Kawit, Cavite, where thousands of people from the provinces gathered to witness this historic event, including the dramatic unfurling of the Philippine Flag while the Philippine National Anthem was being played in public for the first time, after which the "Act of the Declaration of Independence" was solemnly read by its author, Ambrosio Rianzares Bautista, who patterned it after the American Declaration of Independence; and

WHEREAS, said Declaration was adopted by the Assembly of Municipal Presidents, and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the Philippines in Malolos, Bulacan, on September 1898, as an expression of the sovereign will of the Filipino people; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam annually celebrates Philippine Independence Day, and the numerous contributions that Filipinos have made to our

- I island, and this year they have planned for various activities, such as the Filipino
- 2 Community of Guam's Philippine Independence Ball at the Sheraton Laguna Guam
- 3 Hotel on June 10, 2011; the Filipino-American Golf Tournament on June 11, 2011; a
- 4 flag-raising ceremony at the Philippine Consulate Office of Guam at the ITC
- 5 Building; an Independence Day Mass at San Vitores Church in Tumon; a wreath-
- 6 laying ceremony at the War in the Pacific National Historical Park in Asan on June 12,
- 7 2011; and a Water Festival at *Ypao* Beach on June 26, 2011; now, therefore, be it
- 8 **RESOLVED,** that I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby,
- 9 on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize and congratulate the Filipino Community
- 10 of Guam on the occasion of the observance of the One Hundred Thirteenth (113th)
- 11 Anniversary of the Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of the
- 12 Philippines; and be it further
- RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to,
 - 14 the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Dr.
 - 15 Filomena M. Cantoria and her family; to Dr. Anita Borja Enriquez, Dean of the
 - 16 University of Guam School of Business and Public Administration; to Ms. Leah Beth
 - 17 Naholowaa, President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable Bayani
 - 18 Mercado, Consul General of the Philippines to Guam; and to the Honorable Edward
 - 19 J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 2ND DAY OF MAY 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary